African Development Bank Group (AfDB)

The African Development Bank ( welcomed 12 new directors, including five women, for a three-year term.

The President of the African Development Bank Group, Dr. Akinwumi Adesina, welcomed new representatives to the 20-member Board of Directors. They officially joined the Board on August 1, 2022 and began a four-day induction program on September 1, 2022 to familiarize themselves with the work of the Bank.

“I would like to congratulate you, the new members of the Board, on your election as Executive Directors, who will have the duty, obligation and responsibility to help strengthen the oversight functions of our institution, to provide on our operations and to support the vision and direction of our work,” said Adesina.

The number of women on the Board has increased from three to five. Malika Dhif, who is the new Executive Director for Morocco, Togo and Tunisia, was previously Deputy Director of Treasury and External Finance in Morocco, in charge of relations with the Arab and Islamic world, America, Asia and international institutions. Burundi, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Chad are represented by Chantal Modeste Nonault, chartered accountant, administrative and financial director of the regional office of the World Bank in Mali.

Mette Knudsen, a Danish national, represents Denmark, Finland, India, Ireland, Norway and Sweden. Prior to her appointment, she was Deputy Special Representative for Political Affairs at the United Nations Assistance Mission in Afghanistan. The United States of America is represented on the Bank’s Board of Directors by Oren Elaine Whyche, a longtime Deputy Assistant Administrator in the Africa Bureau of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). Finally, Nomfundo Xenia Ngwenya, of South African nationality, represents South Africa, Eswatini and Lesotho. She was previously Managing Director of South African company NXN Analytics.

Edmond Raphaël Wega, former Canadian Ambassador to Burkina Faso and Benin, now represents Canada, China, Kuwait, Korea and Turkey on the Bank’s Board of Directors. Brahim Bouzeboudjène, a senior official in charge of the fight against corruption in Algeria and former chief of staff to the Algerian Prime Minister, is the new executive director for Algeria, Guinea Bissau and Madagascar.

The executive director for Angola, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe is Angolan economist Joao Luis Ngimbi. Former Gabonese Minister of Energy and Secretary General of the Bank of Central African States, Désiré Guedon is now Executive Director for Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Comoros, Gabon, Mali, Niger and Senegal.

Gérard Pascal Bussier, Deputy Financial Secretary in Mauritius’ Ministry of Finance, Economic Planning and Development, is the new Executive Director for Botswana, Malawi, Mauritius and Zambia. Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Sudan are represented by Liberian economist Rufus Darkortey. Another economist, Rwandan Jonathan Nzayikorera, who knows the Bank well after serving as a senior adviser to his predecessor, now represents Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The new Board members were appointed following the general election of Directors by the Boards of Governors at the Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank Group held in Accra, Ghana in May 2022. Board of the African Development Bank is made up of 20 members. . Thirteen members are elected by the governors of regional member countries (54 African countries) and seven by the governors of non-regional member countries (27 countries). The executive directors are elected for a period of three years, renewable once.

The members of the Board of Directors are responsible for the conduct of the general operations of the Bank. They are based at the Bank’s headquarters in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, and meet as often as required by the Bank’s work. The President of the Bank is the Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Distributed by APO Group for the African Development Bank (AfDB) Group.

Contact: Alexis Adélé, Communication and External Relations Department, [email protected]

About the African Development Bank Group:
The African Development Bank Group is Africa’s premier development finance institution. It comprises three distinct entities: the African Development Bank (AfDB), the African Development Fund (ADF) and the Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF). Present in 41 African countries with an external office in Japan, the Bank contributes to the economic development and social progress of its 54 regional member states. For more information: